top of page
Search
  • benjamminh23

2020 Most Anticipated Movies

The new year is here and it brings with it the Summer Olympics, a presidential election, a new Mars mission, baseball played on a cornfield in Iowa, new gaming consoles, historical anniversaries, new music, books, TV, and of course movies. I have compiled ten of my most anticipated movies of the upcoming year here. Now, not all of these will necessarily be Oscar-worthy, but they may be part of a revived franchise or just something that has been in the works for a while that I'm looking forward to. And if something isn't listed I'm still gonna probably see it!

Listed in order by release date, here are ten of my most anticipated movies of 2020. At the end I will list a few more that I'm looking forward to seeing.

 

No Time to Die (4/8/20)

The 25th installment of the James Bond series is Daniel Craig's 5th and final movie as the MI6 agent. No Time to Die has a great cast as Naomi Harris, Cristoph Waltz, Jeffrey Wright, Ralph Fiennes, and Lea Seydoux all reprise their roles from previous Bond films. They are joined by new additions Lashana Lynch, Rami Malek, and my new favorite actress Ana de Armas. (Side note on de Armas - she is going to be playing Marilyn Monroe in a huge movie called Blonde that comes out this year too.) I can't wait to see Daniel Craig's final performance in this franchise. As one of the best to ever play James Bond there is absolutely no way they let his version of 007 go out on a bad note!


Black Widow (5/1/20)

Marvel fans have been clamoring for a Black Widow solo movie for ages, and now Agent Romanoff finally gets her shot. After her fate in Endgame, I would assume this is Scarlett Johansson's last(?) time playing Black Widow, so I really hope she knocks it out of the park. This movie will also be the first in the new era of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. David Harbour, Rachel Weisz, and 2019 breakout star Florence Pugh will all join ScarJo for this one vs the Taskmaster, a very intriguing villain. I'm ready to kick off Phase 4 of the MCU!


Wonder Woman 1984 (6/5/20)

From Marvel to DC Comics and from one bad-a lady to another, Gal Gadot is making her return as Princess Diana. The trailer and poster (above) for this move are both sick. WW84 has a really colorful, Thor: Ragnarok vibe to it and I am very excited for that! Wonder Woman is one of the few DC properties that holds my interest and it’s mainly due to Gadot. She is a real life wonder woman. This sequel is bringing in Pedro Pascal and Kristen Wiig as a villain and I hope they let her do more than play the comedic roles she’s been mostly relegated to. I’m also interested in the return of Chris Pine’s Steve Trevor. He was looking like a snack in a fanny pack in the trailer.


Top Gun: Maverick (6/26/20)

34 years after he first took the cockpit in Top Gun, Tom Cruise makes his return to the flight deck. I think they waited a little too long to make this sequel because Maverick is wayyyy too old to still be flying, but the intrigue is there nonetheless and this movie is going to crush at the box office. Val Kilmer is also set to reprise his role as Iceman. Miles Teller is set to play Goose's son, Rooster, and Jon Hamm, Ed Harris, and Jennifer Connelly are also joining the cast. The action and flying in the trailer looks sick and here's to hoping there's another volleyball scene for all you ladies out there.


Ghostbusters: Afterlife (7/10/20)

Nostalgia city up in here! There is a lot I want to see in this Ghostbusters sequel. The trailer made it seem like more of a serious supernatural adventure, but I hope Afterlife remembers its roots are in comedy. The original Ghostbusters movie was a comedy before anything else. Give me all of the Paul Rudd. He is on an absolute tear right now and needs significant screen time in this movie. And of course, it would not be a sci-fi movie if Finn Wolfhard wasn't in it. That kid is in everything. I really hope they tie into the rest of the franchise well and throw in the OG cast to really pound home the nostalgia. This will be a fun one this summer!


Tenet (7/17/20)

The synopsis for this movie right now says simply, "A secret agent is tasked with preventing World War III through time travel." Listen, I have seen the trailer a bunch of times now and I have no idea what is happening. Things are moving forward and backwards and up and down and all over. But it looks sick and Christopher Nolan (Inception, Interstellar, Dunkirk, The Dark Knight Trilogy) is back playing with the time space continuum again so you just know this thing is going to be good. Interstellar was a little too much for me so there is a risk here. Nolan is such an innovative director though and the cast is great. The whole story is under lock and key, but according to Robert Pattinson the script is "unreal." This movie is going to have a lot of people talking this summer.


The King's Man (9/18/20 I think?)

I was super bummed to find out that the third installment of the Kingsman franchise was being pushed back from February, but that's a good sign that director Matthew Vaughn wants to put it up against more heavy hitters. This one is a prequel, set during World War I and I have watched the trailer about ten thousand times and still get chills when War Pigs starts playing. I really enjoy the Kingsman franchise and I hope that this movie expands on the lore a bit more. I'm also loving all the love that World War I is getting in movies recently. Rasputin is very prominent in the trailer, as is the assassination of Franz Ferdinand and trench warfare. There is a lot to be explored here.


Last Night in Soho (9/25/20)

Okay, this is me branching out a little. I'm not a huge fan of the horror genre, but this new psychological horror film has my curiosity. I am a big fan of director Edgar Wright (Scott Pilgrim, Shaun of the Dead, Baby Driver). Baby Driver is one of my favorites so I am willing to give this a chance even though it will probably scare the crap out of me. Not much is known as of now, but it stars Thomasin McKenzie and Anya Taylor-Joy. It's set in 1960s London and I think there is some time travel? I trust Edgar though so I'm gonna give it a whirl.


The Eternals (11/6/20)

Nearly all of the movies on this list have a common theme. Have you found it? Stacked casts. Marvel's The Eternals ensemble is no exception. It has an embarrassment of riches. Angelia Jolie, Salma Hayek, a pair of Game of Thrones kings - Richard Madden and Kit Harrington, Lauren Ridloff, Gemma Chan, and the newly JACKED Kumail Nanjiani all join in on the fun of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I know absolutely nothing about the Eternals from Marvel Comics, but boy, I can't wait to learn all about them. The MCU is expanding big time with their upcoming projects, but they have so much good will built up it is impossible not to trust that this will be amazing.


Dune (12/18/20)

I don't know a ton about Dune, but what I do know gets me very excited. I know that it is part 1 of 2 movies based on an epic science fiction book from 1965 of the same name. I know that the cast is the Murderer's Row of actors. Oscar Isaac, Timothee Chalamet, Rebecca Ferguson, Josh Brolin, Dave Bautista, Zendaya, Jason Momoa, and Javier Bardem are all in this freaking movie. I mean.... that's just unfair. And I know that Denis Villeneuve is directing. Villeneuve was cranking out masterpieces last decade with movies like Sicario, Arrival, and one of my all time favorites - Blade Runner 2049. Dune is going to look incredible, no doubt about that. And I think ultimately it will be incredible overall and I can't wait until I can see it!

 

So there you have my most anticipated movies of 2020. A few more that I am excited to see are Bad Boys for Life, Birds of Prey, The Invisible Man, Onward, A Quiet Place: Part II, Mulan, The New Mutants, Jungle Cruise, The Many Saints of Newark, Morbius, Venom 2, Godzilla vs Kong, and The Lovebirds. I think it's going to be a great year at the movies! I'm finally seeing 1917 this weekend so be on the lookout for that review soon. Thanks for reading and please let me know what you are most excited for in 2020!


- BH

gif




28 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page